Welcome to my Blog – Eusebeian Life!

Wow! I can hardly believe I’m doing this! This is my first attempt at writing a blog (and I really have no idea what I’m doing), but I’m really excited to be giving it a try! I can just imagine you might be thinking, “Ok…what is a Eusebeian Life?” Well, I’m glad you asked! Eusebeia is a Greek word meaning reverence, respect, piety towards God, godliness (Thayer and Smith. “Greek Lexicon enhtry for Eusebeia”. “The NAS New Testament Greek Lexicon”. 1999.) The phonetic pronunciation of eusebeia is yoo-seb-i-ah.

Over the past few years, I have become extremely interested in developing and living a eusebeian or godly lifestyle. Striving continuously to put God first in everything I say and do. As you can imagine that is a daunting task, but I have some important people in my life who depend on me to exemplify that kind of life – they include my husband, of 18 years, and our 13 (almost 14) year old son.

How did I come up with the name “Eusebeian Life” for my blog? Believe me it was not a simple task. Once I decided to begin a blog I found a website that I could put name possibilities in and check to see if they were taken already (Namechk.com). That was frustrating! Every name I entered as a blog name came up “taken” for WordPress. What could I do, but keep trying different names? Anyway, while studying for a Bible study I lead for a group of ladies in our congregation I came across 1 Timothy 3:16 which says, “Beyond all question, the mystery of godliness is great:” The study material stated the Greek word for godliness was “Eusebeia” and I thought, “That would be perfect for my blog name! It’s interesting, as well as, intriguing! How many people would know that word and use it for their blog name?” Guess what? Yep! It was taken! “Really?!” Then I had to change it to make it work and came up with “Eusebeian Life,” realizing that “eusebeian” may not be an actual word. Please forgive me…I had to do something to make it work! I then thought I could add a sub-title to help explain my title more: “Living a life of godliness.”

In my monthly blogs I hope to share Biblical truths about godliness to include God’s explanations and expectations. These may come in forms similar to Bible studies including multiple Biblical references, questions for thought and discussion; to stories about how I am (or am not) living up to those Biblical expectations. The Holy Bible (NIV unless otherwise stated) will be where my Bible references will come from. I intend to share my life experiences with you in the hope that there might be something that you – the reader – can relate to on your journey toward godliness. I welcome your comments and questions about my posts, but do ask that you keep them clean and respectful. I will never intentionally post anything meant to be hurtful or disrespectful, but I don’t intend to water down God’s Word either. All I ask is that I receive the same respect in return. Foul language will not be tolerated! If you don’t like or understand what I post – ask me about it or just don’t read it.

Now before you begin to think that all I do is study the Bible and have deep theological discussions, let me tell you that I do have other interests, as well. I enjoy crocheting, reading with my son, reading for myself (usually of a Christian nature), walking, watching my son play soccer, listening to my husband teach and preach the Word, and cooking and baking! I do FaceBook, but not Twitter (sorry), and enjoy spending time with family and friends.

I don’t claim to have the perfect godly life, but I do recognize the importance of living a godly life and hope you will enjoy my blog posts about “Living a life of godliness!” Godliness is a journey I am and will be on for the rest of my life. I pray you will find encouragement for your “Eusebeian Life,” as well! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

